The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Helping hands

1 Comment

Last night, while plying lace yarn on my Watson Martha wheel, I thought about how solitary a practice spinning sometimes is for me.

Of course, 4.6 oz of lace can do that for you.

This is Yarn Hollow hand-dyed 80% merino/ 20% silk that is spun on Martha’s small whorl in Scotch tension.  The plying is now at the green (last-spun) portion of the braid.

Singles spinning time was January 19 – 21.  Including, happy spin-in hours at the Fibre Garden in Jordan.

On Monday morning, I had the wrong sort of help.  Toby tore through my re-winding job.  In hot pursuit of the cat, Melvin.  Both singles snapped cleanly.

Two quiet Elves

Onion skins for dyeing

Isabelle floored me last week with a PM that basically said, “I have onion skins for you.”  Quietly collected over a year – such an act of kind thoughtfulness!

I will use them with my own years’ long collection to dye fibre.  You need ½ to full weight of skins to fibre for golds, rusts, or browns.  No rush, folks.  No rush at all!

This skein was made possible by Sandi‘s gift of a batt that she carded herself.  I would love to show off said batt because it was a thing of beauty.  Except someone had camnesia.

This already-spun bombyx silk single served as my second ply for the Sandi Skein.  The spindle is a 20 g Pau Amarillo speed demon made by Houndesign.

Left: Plied Sandi Batt spin

My 12 g Greensleeves Ethan Jakob was perfect for Sandi’s fibre.  What none of the pics shows is the glint of angelina that she included in the blending.

Of Long Leases 

My spinning friend, Margaret, has generously loaned me her charkha.

This book-sized driven spindle wheel is just the thing.  No space sacrifice, and I can continue exploring cotton.  That far spindle is Margaret’s work – I”m still all thumbs!

Jamaican annatto awaiting my yarn dyeing pleasure

Many thanks to those of you who lend a hand, get in touch, and quietly read along.  It does sometimes take late nights at the wheel but that’s not the whole story.

Also, you guys are awesome.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

One thought on “Helping hands

  1. Reblogged this on laughingcrow diaper covers.

Leave a Reply

