The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

Mid-June is for giving!

6 Comments

Faithful Reader –

You may have been around since the very beginning on March 3, 2009.  You may have met me at points in the meantime or just happened to have turned us up on a search.  You may even just be here for the very first time.  It’s ALL GOOD.

This blog started in one of life’s lulls.  It took time to take shape, and my only real rule has been to speak the truth in my own voice.  As topics range past knitting, I keep learning that next piece.  Each step helps me beat a path here in my chosen home, Canada.

Audience, you never exploded.  What you did was better than that.  You reached out to me in private messages, comments, and most happily in friendship.  My everlasting sock knitting did not turn you off.  Nor did the Yay Jamaica! posts or the literary quotes.  You let me know that the posts were being read, and complimented my successes.  We laughed over my unfortunate turns of hand.  In complete generosity you shared time, talent and that treasure of stash.  In short, you cared.

It’s my birthday, tomorrow, and that makes it my turn.

Leave a comment, folks.  Tweet.  One comment each please but tweet for extra chances in this giveaway.  There’s a skein of Tosh Sock (100% SW merino) in Logwood – 365 yards of fingering weight.  There’s also the woven bag – 6.25″ diameter x 8.5″ high.  I will leave this open until next Friday, June 21, 2013 and then Random Number choose 2 persons.  If you win we need to talk about your address, and then I will send it along.

Morning Glory experiment: also exceeding expectations

Thank you, Guys.  Happy Birthday to me!

One skein – mug not included!

The last fibre event of my season is this weekend.  It’s so considerate of the Ontario Handspinning Seminar to throw this marketplace, etc. together just for me.  See you there?!

 

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

6 thoughts on “Mid-June is for giving!

  1. Lara the pleasure of reading your blog puts a smile on my face. I look forward to you sharing bits of your life. I love the bag where did you get it. I dont tweet. Hope to see you soon.

    • Thank you & miss you! I was told that the bag was bought on Etsy. It came to me as part of a trade for my handspinning a few years ago, and is unused. It would make a great spindle or small knitting project bag! Your support means a lot, friend!

  2. Happy birthday. I enjoy reading your posts both here and on FOAY.

  3. Lara! The one who so patiently tried to teach me to drop spindle 🙂 I love reading all your posts. Happy (Belated!) Birthday again!

  4. Oh, I missed your birthday! Happy unbirthday, Lara!

  5. Belated Happy Birthday, Lara! Perhaps some day I will get to say so in person!

Leave a Reply

