The Knit Knack's Blog

Better living through fibre

The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair – a tale of two fleece auctions

Leave a comment

The Royal held its annual fleece auction at the tail of the Fair in Toronto, Sunday before last.  My quiet initiation to this event came two years ago when it was held on the second level above offices & stable.

It was a cheap & cheerful sort of afternoon.  Not only did I make out with 11+ lbs of freshly shorn local wool that I love but I learned a lot.  We sat near the front of the room and got to hear some of the off-mike conversation of the experienced auctioneers.  An under-the-breath, “the judge says that lamb’s fleece is tender,” is something that I need to hear.

This year we arrived earlier, and saw the judged fleece on open display.  As you will hear why later in this post – they were in frightening proximity to one another.

Auction fleece at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Many animals were already being loaded by farmers but some were still in their stalls, and cages.

Ontario llama Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Zabian the Llama

There was a sign in his pen.  It said, “Hi! My name is ZABIAN.”  He was my favorite.

Lincoln Longwool sheep at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Lincoln Longwool!

One of the few as yet unshorn sheep in the barn.  This one was very happy with head petting, and I obliged while N chuckled.

Sheep Dorsets Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

D’aww

Since a certain rabbit loving friend couldn’t be with us, I had to include some of the adorable bunnies.

Young rabbits at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Babies – mother Bun was glowering in the foreground

They were winning hearts, and influencing people based on the rush that we saw at the rabbit sales table!

Lop-eared Rabbit at Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Lop-eared rabbit

The alpacas were also a big hit with the crowd.  A young man was spinning their fibre using a Canadian Production Wheel (CPW) right next to them.  He was doing a great job of answering questions.

Alpaca Royal Agricultural Winter Fair Toronto

Alpaca at the Royal

In the midst of walking around N was dealing with a work crisis by phone, so we went into the auction area while it was still fairly empty.

Annual Royal Agricultural Winter Fair Fleece Auction Toronto

You are HERE

As people & fleece arrived, I knew that the Grand Champion fleece would quickly go out of my reach.  I wasn’t wrong!

Grand Champion Fleece Royal Agricultural Winter Fair Toronto

First Prize in the Championship class

This way I can remember what earns a perfect score for lustre in the judges’ books.  The note was “beautiful brightness.”  They sold this lot first.  There was competition, and it went for $9/lb or $72.  This was under the 2011 Grand Champion winning price of $21.50/lb or $96.75.

Fleece Downs Breed Ontario Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

She shoots; she scores!

The second prize in the Down-type category was this 5.8lb white fleece from Shadow Rock Farm in Schomberg.  A pre-wash cold soak took care of a LOT of dirt (etc.).

I see socks.

My next fleece came with a fight, and at a huge premium because of that fight.

The fleece is dead.  Long live the fleece.

An Icelandic moorit fleece off a ram lamb.  It was judged second behind a Shetland ram lamb fleece that I let go when it hit $18.75/lb.

Moorit Icelandic ram lamb fleece

Moorit means reddish brown. Love.

In competition the 2.3lb fleece went for more than the first prize Shetland in this ‘Specialty’ class.  These pictures were taken the next day.

Icelandic moorit ram lamb fleece Royal Agricultural Winter Fair

Here is where it starts to hurt

What I saw made my heart sink.  The words “fine sand-like particles” came to me.  For that is the description commonly given for the eggs of the clothes moth.

You can see them in the lower, right of this picture above.  I saw them in the bag and all on the outer areas of the fleece.

Clothes moth larvae, wool

Clothes moth larvae – fresh off the fleece, and totally alive

A few hours into my cleaning, I got new knowledge first-hand.  What at first looked like strange, smooth grain turned out to be the wool-eating stage of the clothes moths’ development.  In quantity.

On Monday, the Royal let me know that I will be refunded in full.  It was curt is what I will say about that.

The bigger picture

The real anxiety is not about cost vs. benefit.  It is about whether this infested fleece is a house-wide moth problem for us.  In the hours it took for me to get verification of my worst fears, the pets were moving freely around the area.  I have taken all steps to rid the house of any stray eggs but they evolved to survive.  It is their special skill.

I am really grateful for friends who gently guided me to realize this fleece I fought for really isn’t worth the risk.  Further steps can be taken.  I considered using our chest freezer for cold treatment & thaw cycles.  Even if it worked to kill all eggs – and it might not –  I would still have damaged fleece at the end of the day.

The moral is:  always work with raw fibre quickly even if it is from a trusted source.  In the future, I will leave it on the other side of the threshold first.

The warning is: if you bought at the Royal Fleece Auction this year, be extra careful.  This may have been next to yours in that pretty display.

Author: iriegemini

Lara is originally from Jamaica, living in the Greater Toronto Area with N, and a cat, Melvin. She knits, spins, weaves, and is a chatterbox on all of the above. Lara's journey began as a young girl with her Grandmother's cross-stitch embroidery stash & blessing.

Leave a Reply

